Cover Page »
Feature article
The wide open learning world: sea, land, and ice views
In my opinion
Potential implications of the online learning innovation fund
Conference reviews
@#altc2009: impressions of ALT 2009
Future of technology in education conference
Project updates
Interdisciplinary design to support learning design
Global resources for on-line education
Back to basics: the web, academic values, and Sakai
Education in a changing world: teachers and technology
Case studies
Twittering the student experience
Online 'student common rooms'
Introducing a radiofrequency clicker system: staff perceptions
ALT news
Chief Executive's report
All of a twitter
Innovating e-Learning 2009
ALT-C Keynote and invited speaker sessions
Older issues »
Chief Executive's report
by Seb Schmoller

Changes to ALT News
The second issue of the new-style ALT Update, edited by Lucy Saxton, ALT's Publications Manager has now been distributed to ALT members. If you have suggestions for improvements to the Update, write to Lucy - Please continue to use the fax-back that comes with the Update to tell us about changes in the information you wish us to hold about you.

Changes within ALT

Election results

We welcome: Liz Masterman (from the University of Oxford), newly elected as a Trustee of ALT for a three-year term; Liz Bennett (from Huddersfield University), re-elected as a Trustee for a further three-year term; Gilly Salmon (from Leicester University), elected as Vice-Chair of ALT, who will become Chair of ALT in September 2010, and President in September 2011.

Changes amongst ALT's Trustees
Steve Ryan (London School of Economics) has taken over as President, and Carol Higgison (University of Bradford) as Chair. Haydn Blackey (from Glamorgan University) has been appointed Chair of the Membership Services Committee, and co-opted as a Trustee. John Cook (London Metropolitan University) has been appointed as Chair of the Research Committee, and co-opted as a Trustee. Liz Bennett has been appointed as Honorary Secretary. Fred Pickering (who recently retired from Barnsley College) has been reappointed as Honorary Treasurer and as Chair of the Further Education Committee. Dick Moore (Ufi/learndirect) has been reappointed as Chair of the Publications Committee. Cathy Ellis and Gayle Calverley who have retired as Trustees, and we sincerely thank them for their several years of voluntary effort for ALT.

Reform of membership structure
In June ALT's Trustees decided on some long term changes to ALT's membership structure, which will be implemented over the next 15 months. Following our analysis of the 2008/2009 membership survey, these amendments, which include a new membership category, will be outlined in more detail in the next ALT Update.

ALT Conferences 2010 and 2009
The 2010 ALT Conference will be held between 7 and 9 September 2010 in Notttingham. "Into something rich and strange" - making sense of the sea-change will be co-chaired by Vanessa Pittard (Director of e-Strategy at Becta) and Professor Richard Noss (Co-director of the London Knowledge Labm, and Director of the ESRC/EPSRC Technology Enhanced Learning research programme). The conference web site is now live at, with dates, deadlines, a downloadable flyer, and the sponsorship and exhibition prospectus. Meanwhile we have published videos of keynote speeches and invited speaker sessions from the 2009 ALT conference. Access these from

David Hawkridge awarded Honorary Life Membership of ALT
At the ALT Annual General Meeting on 9 September ALT awarded David Hawkridge with Honorary Life Membership of ALT for his outstanding and sustained contribution to the advancement of ALT's aims for the development of learning technology in a national and international context through research, practice, policy-development, and leadership. We are looking forward to working more closely with David in the future. The 2010 call for nominations for the award of Honorary Life membership will be issued in Spring 2010.

2009 ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Award
We congratulate the following individuals and teams for jointly winning the 2009 ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Award. Individual winners: James Clay from Gloucestershire College and Vivien Rolfe form De Montfort University. Team winners: the Xerte team at Nottingham University; the Beyond Distance Research Alliance at the University of Leicester. Highly commended were David Payne from Middlesbrough College, and the LSN MoLeNET Mentoring team. For full details go to The 2010 competition will open in Spring 2010.

Seb Schmoller
29 September 2009

Created with Newsweaver